The department of Isere belongs to the Rhone-Alps area. It is bordering on the departments of the Rhone, of Ain, of Savoy, of Hautes-Alpes, of Drome, Ardeche and the Loire.

The principal city of the department is Grenoble, prefecture of 155.100 inhabitants (2005).

  • Hydrology

A river runs in Isere: The Rhone and two affluents of the Rhone, (on its left bank): Isere and Bourbre.

This department is very contrast, with:

  • in North, Cold Grounds, the calcareous plate of Isle Cremieu at the edge of the Rhone and to the foot of the Jura;
  • in the west, the valley of the Rhone to the foot of the Massif Central;
  • middle distance between Grenoble and Lyon has: the plain of the Beaver, Chambarans, country of Valoire and the Voironnais Country;
  • with center-is the solid mass of Chartreuse;
  • in the center the North-South axis constitutes by the valley of Gresivaudan (or Graisivaudan), piece of the alpine furrow which carries out of Grenoble has Chamb?ry;
  • on left bank of Isere the solid masses of Belledonne, the Large Russet-red ones, Jewel cases culminating point of the department has 4.088 m with the Peak Lory, peak of the Bar of the Jewel cases, (4 102 m, itself situee in the department of Hautes-Alpes) and of Vercors in the West.


Detailed article: History of Isere.

As a department, Isere was creee with the French Revolution, on March 4, 1790 pursuant to the law of December 22, 1789, starting from part of the old province of Dauphine.

Its limits with the department of the Rhone were several times modifiees:

  • In 1852, the appearance of zones urbanisees in periphery of led Lyon has to attach the iseroises communes of Bron, Vaulx-in-Vellum, Venissieux and Villeurbanne in the Rhone; before this date, the commune of Lyon was bordering on Isere.
  • In 1967 the urban community of Lyon (current Grand Lyon) is creee; the inter-commune structures of the time not being able to exceed the limits of the departments, 23 communes of Isere (and 6 communes of Ain) are rattachees in the Rhone (Chaponnay, Chassieu, Communay, Corbas, Decines-Charpieu, Feyzin, Genas, Jonage, Jons, Marennes, Meyzieu, Less, Pusignan, Saint-Bonnet-of-Walls, Saint-Laurent-of-Walls, Saint-Pierre-of-Chandieu, Saint-Priest, Saint-Symphorien-in Ozon, the Serezin-of-Rhone, Simandres, Solaize, Ternay and Toussieu).
  • In 1971, Dovecote-Saugnieu is detachee of Isere.

latest Department notices